Welcome to Agona West Municipal Assembly

map of agena west

Agona West Municipal Assembly (AWMA) was created out of the former Agona District Assembly (ADA) on 25th February, 2008 by LI 1920. AWMA is one of the twenty (20) political and administrative districts in the Central Region of Ghana. AWMA has 1 Urban Council – Nyarkrom Urban Council (LI 1967) and 5 Zonal Councils


To become a well developed Municipal Assembly that provides and facilitates excellent services to its people to ensure improvement in the quality of life of its people.


The Agona West Municipal Assembly exists to facilitate the improvement in the quality of life of the people in close collaboration with the private sector and other development partners in the Municipality through the mobilization and the judicious use of resources and provision of Basic Socio-Economic Development within the context of Good Governance.


map of agena west, GhanaAgona West is situated in the eastern corner of the Central Region within latitudes 5030’ and 5050’N and between longitudes 0035’ and 0055’W.cIt has a total land area of 447 square kilometers. The Municipality is divided into six (6) sub-districts or Town/Area Councils. The Municipality is bordered to the North by Agona East, to the South by Gomoa East and to the Northwest and West by Asikuma, Odoben, Brakwa and Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam Districts (Map 2). The Municipal capital, Swedru, is at a nodal point of roads radiating to the rich cocoa growing areas of the Central Region. Swedru is approximately twenty-four kilometers North of Winneba.


Agona West has a diversified relief with altitudes varying between 75-150 meters above sea level with the highest point being 350 meters. Agona West has undulating and sloppy topography from north to south with isolated hillocks in the north- east, most of which are made up of granite rocks. The main river which primarily drains through the Municipality is Akora River. There are other small rivers like Abena, and Enchiwi, which could be useful for purposes of irrigation.


The major soil type found in the Municipality is classified as Forest ochrosols. These soils are alkaline and richly supplied with nutrients which make them suitable for cultivating varied agricultural produce like cocoa, citrus and coconut. Typical forest food crops like plantain, banana, cassava, cocoyam and maize. Vegetable and sugar cane cultivation is widespread. Agriculture occupies most of the land use; however, certain areas are devoted to forestry and community settlements.


Generally, the Municipality lies in the wet semi-equatorial climate zone. It has two main crop growing seasons: a bio-modal pattern of rainfall with the maxima occurring in May/June and September/October. The annual rainfall figure lies within the range of 1000mm – 1400mm.  The dry season starts in December and ends in March with the highest mean monthly temperature of 33.80 occurring between March/April and the lowest of about 29.40 C in August. 

The area falls within the moist tropical and semi-deciduous forest with a lot of valuable timber trees like mahogany, sapele, silk cotton, wawa and odum. Due to over logging, most of the timber trees are no more. The most predominant and giant tree left is the silk cotton. The recent award of concessions for the harvesting of this tree poses the greatest ecological danger to the environment. Aforestation, particularly the cultivation of teak and other forest trees would become very important economic ventures in future.